C'est quoi
illimité
vertical?

Toutes les opérations de ski héliporté garantissent un certain nombre de mètres verticaux. Chez Great Canadian, nous offrons une bonne quantité de vertical (p.ex. 30,500 m/100,000pi pour un séjour d'une semaine).

Plus

Personnel de bureau

Great family at Great Canadian!

Personnel de bureau

Votre séjour héli-ski ne commence pas lorsque vous arrivez à notre auberge… il commence lorsque vous contactez notre personnel amical et informé.

Si vous êtes nouveau au concept d'héli-ski, ou que vous ayez un demi-million de mètres verticaux et voulez savoir pourquoi on croit en être la meilleure opération au Canada, alors parlez à notre équipe de bureau qui sont de vrais experts en ski héliporté. Découvrez pourquoi le ski héliporté en petit groupe de 4 est beaucoup mieux qu'en groupe de 12, ou pourquoi le Vertical illimité offre la meilleure valeur pour votre Dollar/Euro/Livre. Notre personnel de bureau est le meilleur de l'industrie à accommoder votre calendrier . Aucun autre opérateur canadien d'héli-ski de plusieurs jours ne vous laissera commencer votre séjour n'importe quel jour de la semaine… contactez Deane pour choisir vos dates précises.

Deane Pickering

  • Nom: Deane Pickering (prononcer “Dîne”)
  • Position: Gérante des ventes
  • À GCH depuis: 1996
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Langues parlées: Anglais
  • LinkedIn

Des centaines de clients ont été bienvenus par la voix sympathique de Deane, et reviennent à cause de son talent à organiser les séjours et les groupes. Elle adore la variété de la clientèle et partager les détails de l'expérience héli-ski. Deane vit dans les montagnes depuis toujours et aime rouler sur sa moto, camper/pêcher et faire des randonnées pédestres en famille dans la saison morte.

Maaike Porter

  • Nom: Maaike Porter
  • Sobriquet: Aucun sobriquet pour Maaike, elle aimerait seulement qu'on prononce son nom correctement (i.e. “Maïca”)
  • Position: Propriétaire et comptable agréé depuis 2000
  • À GCH depuis: 2000
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Langues parlées: Hollandais et anglais
  • LinkedIn

Grandissant en Hollande, la famille de Maaike s'échappait de la platitude du niveau de la mer de leur foyer en vacances et en ski à la station Crans-Montana, Suisse. Maintenant, tout est dans sa cour arrière à partager avec sa famille à Golden. Maaike est comptable agréée professionnelle (CPA, CMA), qui, combiné avec son héritage hollandais, est une ressource calculée pour la compagnie. Ou, comme son mari Greg aime geindre, “elle a les poches profondes mais les bras courts”. Vous pourriez aussi croire qu'elle a les jambes courtes en la voyant skier la poudreuse profonde.

Greg Porter

  • Nom: Greg Porter
  • Sobriquet: GP
  • Position: Propriétaire et PDG depuis 2000
  • À GCH depuis: 2000
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Langues parlées: Anglais.
  • LinkedIn

Greg est un garçon attiré par l'Ouest! Grandissant en Ontario et voyageant fréquemment pour participer aux compétitions nationales de planche à neige, Greg renforçait son désir de s'installer dans l'Ouest canadien à chaque voyage qu'il y faisait. Cependant, “posséder un commerce de ski héliporté dans un village de C.-B. dépasse mes rêves les plus fous de garçon ontarien” a dit Greg. Quoiqu'il trouve que ses enfants ne semblent pas réaliser à quel point ils sont choyés, Greg dit qu'il s'en rappelle à chaque fois qu'il va héli-skier dans les montagnes. “Je sais que chaque fois que je sors (en héli-ski) ou que nos clients sortent, il y a une bonne chance que ce soit ‘le meilleur ski de notre vie’. C'est mon travail de s'assurer que cela arrive aussi souvent que possible!”

Jean-Marc La Flamme - Technology, Innovation, Marketing

  • Nom: Jean-Marc La Flamme
  • Sobriquet: J@mmer
  • Position: Technologie, Innovation, Commercialisation
  • À GCH depuis: 2018
  • Localités: Revelstoke, Blaeberry, Golden, les Kootenay… oh et Toronto
  • Station d'attache: Revelstoke
  • Langues parlées: Anglais, Français, mais a aussi des oreillettes traductrices avancées
  • LinkedIn

Un Canadien-Suisse nomade digital avec plusieurs hivers de ski dans les alpes, maintenant bien enraciné depuis une décade dans les Kootenay, Jean-Marc est un pionnier de compagnies technologiques depuis plus de 20 ans. En tant que “Webmestre” construisant à la main des sites internet de première génération pour le gouvernement du Canada dans les années 90 et ensuite gérant des équipes chez Yahoo! et WestJet, il est allé sur la scène des démarrages en s'appliquant aux perturbations dans les technologies de transport et financières. Il est un fondateur de stratégies de technologies communautaires et d'équipes innovatrices, amenant des services comme la fibre optique, les vols, partage d'autos et de trajets, ainsi que d'espaces de travail et de programmes de démarrages qui ont aidé des centaines de professionnels. Une passion énorme pour le technologies incluant les chaînes de bloc, l'intelligence artificielle & la réalité virtuelle mais aussi la vie abordable et le développement communautaire. Alors oui, il aime skier, rouler et pratiquer le #travaildelavenir!

Brooklynn Pickering

  • Nom: Brooklynn Pickering
  • Position: Coordinatrice des ventes et commercialisation
  • À GCH depuis: 2018
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Langues parlées: Anglais.
  • LinkedIn

Brooklynn est née et élevée à Golden, C-B. Ses passions incluent la photographie sur film, la lecture et l'écriture, et diverses autres activités artistiques. Elle adore le style de vie de village montagneux et tout ce que ça comporte. Great Canadian et l'auberge du mont Heather ont toujours fait partie de sa vie puisque sa mère, Deane, est avec la compagnie depuis qu'elle est bambin. On pourrait dire qu'on fait partie de sa constitution génétique! Partner, Max and puppy Lily complete her family life.

Why choose
small group
Heli-Skiing?

You will LOVE skiing in small groups! The heli-skiing new school is all about skiing in fast, agile helicopters in small and personalized groups. Once you go small, you won’t go back!

More

Office Staff

Great family at Great Canadian!

Office Staff

Your heli-skiing holiday doesn’t start when you get to our lodge… it begins when you contact our friendly and knowledgeable Office Staff.

If you are new to the concept of heli-skiing, or you have a million vertical feet one-piece suit and want to find out why we believe we are the best helicopter skiing operation in Canada, then speak to our office team who are truly heli-skiing experts. Find out why heli-skiing in a Small Group of 4 is so much better than skiing in a group of 12, or why Unlimited Vertical offers the best value for your Dollar/Euro/Pound. Our Office Staff are the best in the industry at accommodating your schedule . No other multi-day heliski operation in Canada will let you start your trip on any day of the week… contact Deane to choose your specific dates.

Deane Pickering

  • Name: Deane Pickering (pronounced “Dean”)
  • Position: Sales Manager
  • At GCH Since: 1996
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, British Columbia, Canada
  • Languages Spoken: English
  • LinkedIn

Hundreds of guests have been welcomed by Deane’s friendly voice, and keep coming back because of her excellent trip and group organizing skills. She loves the diversity of our guests and sharing the details of the heli-skiing experience. Deane has lived in the mountains all her life and enjoys riding her motorcycle, camping/fishing and hiking with her family in the off season.

Maaike Porter

  • Name: Maaike Porter
  • Nickname: No nickname for Maaike, she would just like people to pronounce her name properly (ie “Mica”)
  • Position: Owner and CFO since 2000
  • At GCH Since: 2000
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, British Columbia, Canada
  • Languages Spoken: Dutch and English
  • LinkedIn

Growing up in the Netherlands Maaike’s family would escape the sea level flatness of her home to holiday and ski with her family in Crans-Montana, Switzerland. Now she has it all in her backyard to share with her family in Golden. Maaike is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CMA), which combined with her Dutch heritage is a calculated asset to the company. Or, as her husband Greg likes to complain, “she has deep pockets but short arms”. You would also mistakenly think that she has short legs when watching her ski deep powder.

Greg Porter

  • Name: Greg Porter
  • Nickname: GP
  • Position: Owner and CEO since 2000
  • At GCH Since: 2000
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, British Columbia, Canada
  • Languages Spoken: English.
  • LinkedIn

Greg is a go-West-young-man kind of guy! Growing up in Ontario while frequently travelling to compete Nationally with snowboarding, Greg consolidated his resolve with every Western trip that he would make Western Canada his home. However, “owning a heli-skiing business in Small Town BC is beyond even my wildest Ontario boyhood dreams” Greg said. Although he feels like his kids do not seem to know how good they have it, Greg says he is reminded of this every time he goes out into the mountains to heli-ski. “I know each time I go out (heli-skiing) or our guests go out, there is the potential to have ‘the best ski day of our lives’. It’s my job to make sure the company delivers this as many times as possible!”

Jean-Marc La Flamme - Technology, Innovation, Marketing

  • Name: Jean-Marc La Flamme
  • Nickname: J@mmer
  • Position: Technology, Innovation, Marketing
  • At GCH Since: 2018
  • Home Towns: Revelstoke, Blaeberry, Golden, Kootenays… oh and Toronto
  • Home Resort: Revelstoke
  • Languages Spoken: English, French, but has high tech translating earbuds
  • LinkedIn

A Canadian-Swiss digital nomad with many winters of Alp skiing experience, now firmly planted for over a decade in the Kootenays, Jean-Marc has pioneered technology companies for over 20 years. As a “Webmaster” building first generation Government of Canada websites by hand in the 90’s and moving to manage web teams with Yahoo! and WestJet, he shifted into the startup scene focusing on disruption in transportation and financial technologies. He is a founder of community technology strategies and innovation teams, bringing services such as fibre internet, flight, car and ride share, as well as coworking spaces and startup programs that have serviced hundreds of professionals. A huge passion for technologies including blockchain, artificial intelligence & virtual reality but also affordable living and community development. So yes, he loves to ski, bike and practice the #FutureOfWork!

Brooklynn Pickering

  • Name: Brooklynn Pickering
  • Position: Sales and Marketing Coordinator
  • At GCH Since: 2018
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, British Columbia, Canada
  • Languages Spoken: English.
  • LinkedIn

Brooklynn was born and raised in Golden BC. Her passions include film photography, reading and writing, and various other artistic outlets. She loves the small town mountain lifestyle and all that it includes. Great Canadian and Heather Mountain Lodge have always been a part of her life because her mother Deane has been with the company since she was a toddler. One could say we are part of her genetic make up! Partner, Max and puppy Lily complete her family life.