Chez GCH, votre
horaire est
notre horaire.

Comme “boutique héli-ski” originale, nous sommes fiers d'offrir une expérience personnalisée dès votre premier contact avec nous.

Plus

Guides

Nos guides

Great Canadian Héli-Ski considère votre sécurité sa priorité numéro 1. Nos guides sont des professionnels expérimentés et certifiés (Association des guides de montagnes Canadiens, Association Canadienne des Guides de Ski et Fédération Internationale des Associations de Guides de montagnes). Ils sont tous entrainés en sécurité neige, analyse météo, et techniques médicales d'urgences et guidage de ski mécanisé. Vous vous savez entre bonnes mains puisque tous nos guides ont, au moins, +10 ans d'expérience sur le terrain. Jour après jour, ils trouveront le meilleur de ce que mère nature peut offrir.

  • Nom: Rob Dalinghaus
  • Position: Gérance des guides/Chef Guide
  • Guide depuis: 1991
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 1992
  • Qualifications: Guide de ski A.C.M.G, Guide de ski
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: Great Canadian Héli-ski
  • Langues parlées: Anglais et un peu d'allemand
Rob Dalinghaus

Inspiré par des amis en Grindelwald, Suisse où il travaillait comme technicien de ski, Rob guide depuis 1991 et chez Great Canadian Héli-Ski depuis 1992.

Après avoir mis sa carrière d'entretien d'aéronef au rancart en 2002, Rob travaille à temps plein chez Great Canadian comme directeur des opérations. En général, Rob s'occupe de toutes les diverses choses qui ont besoin d'entretien. Il admet que malgré les aspects de sa carrière précédente il aimait vraiment, il croit que “les arrangement courants me gardent près des gens et du sport que j'aime”.
Bien marié à une autre guide de ski chez GCH, Sue Gould, il mentionne ses enfants Keelan et Neva autant que sa Triumph TR3B 1962 , comme ses autres projets.

  • Nom: J. Alison Dakin
  • Sobriquet: Al
  • Position: Premier guide
  • Guide depuis: 1992
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2007
  • Qualifications: Guide de ski A.C.M.G, Guide de ski
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues parlées: Anglais
Alison Dakin

Mes premières années de guidage étaient en ski nordique non-mécanisé, surtout à partir d'auberges. J'ai vendu mon commerce de ski nordique, et mon emploi en 2006, et pensait que c'était le moment de changer. J'ai commencé à temps partiel chez Great Canadian Hàli-ski en 2007, qui s'est vite transformé en hiver complet. Après plusieurs hivers, guider chez GCH devient plus amusant. C'est une bonne équipe avec qui travailler, terrain impressionnant, et les meilleures conditions de ski que j'ai vues. Ça ne peut pas être mieux comme place de travail.

Certifications:
Association des guides de montagnes Canadiens – Guide de ski / randonnée pédestre
Association Canadienne d'Avalanche – Membre affilié
Meilleurs jours de Ski: Être dans un groupe cohésif amusant qui veut skier et avoir du bon temps. De la neige épique est toujours bienvenue.

  • Nom: Dave Rutherford
  • Sobriquet: D.R.
  • Position: Premier guide
  • Guide depuis: 2003
  • Guide chez GCH depuis: 2005
  • Qualifications: Guide de ski A.C.M.G, Guide de ski
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues parlées: Anglais
Dave Rutherford

“J'ai guidé à Golden et les alentours plusieurs années, la plupart chez Great Canadian Héli-ski. Avant cela, je patrouillais en ski et faisais des prévisions d'avalanches dans les Rocheuses Canadiennes pendant 10 ans. En hiver, lorsque je ne guide pas pour Great Canadian, je guide le ski alpin et le ski de fond. Les étés se passent à faire du surf autant que possible.

Ma certification inclut guide de ski ACMG et sociétaire professionnel de l'Association Canadienne d'Avalanche. Ma partie préférée du guidage, autre que la poudreuse épique, est de partager avec les clients leurs ‘meilleur ski’ – n'importe quand!”

Dave détient un B.A. en géographie. Son type de journée favorite est neigeuse en janvier à -10 degrés et à skier les pentes raides forestières (comme Velcro, Big O, etc). Les premières descentes sont toujours un plus!

  • Nom: Sue Gould
  • Position: Guide
  • Guide depuis: 1995
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 1996
  • Qualifications: Apprenti Ski Guide A.C.M.G
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues parlées: Anglais
Sue Gould

J'ai toujours eu la passion des montagnes même si j'ai grandie en participant à des compétitions de piano un peu partout. Au début des 90, J'ai mis ma carrière en musique sur la glace pour continuer à guider plus sérieusement. Mon premier emploi de l'industrie me faisait lancer des bombes sur la neige en travaillant au contrôle des avalanches des autoroutes de la province. J'ai ensuite travaillé un peu comme technicienne en recherche sur le terrain pour Bruce Jamieson – un des experts en avalanche du Canada. Une fois que j'ai obtenu ma certification de guide , j'ai commencée tout de suite chez Great Canadian sans regarder en arrière! À peu près à ce moment, j'ai rencontré mon mari (le guide Rob Dalinghaus), l'ai marié et ai eu 2 flots, Keelan et Neva.

Alors que je me consacre à GCH pour le gros de l'hiver, j'enseigne aussi des cours d'avalanche pour l'Association Canadienne d'Avalanche , joue de la musique dans divers ensembles de jazz et de classique, conduit l'orchestre du mont Purcell, enseigne le piano, la voix et la théorie musicale et avise Kicking Horse Culture. Je suis aussi une Rotarienne et chargée du programme d'échange jeunesse local . Mes adolescents me font rire, (ou pleurer selon la journée) et durant la saison morte, je vais en vélo de montagne aussi souvent que possible. Meilleur jour? Neige dans la face sur Sly Pig à mon 50ème anniversaire!

  • Nom: Sylvia Forest
  • Sobriquet: Syl
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 1995
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 1998
  • Qualifications: Guide de ski A.C.M.G, Guide de montagne
  • Localité: Golden, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues parlées: Anglais
Sylvia Forest

J'ai commencé à guider l'héli-ski chez GCH fin des 1990. De 1990-2013, j'étais aussi employée par Parcs Canada comme spécialiste de sauvetage en montagne, et depuis 2005-2013 gérait le programme de sauvetage en montagne au Parc National des Glaciers, qui est adjacent à la permanence de Great Canadian. Ayant pris ma retraite des parcs en automne 2013, je serai chez Great Canadian plus régulièrement, et attend avec impatience la saison suivante! Comme guide de montagne, Je guide aussi durant l'été. Je suis membre professionnelle de l'Association Canadienne d'Avalanche , et enseigne souvent des cours d'avalanche pour eux. Guider chez Great Canadian est plaisant et enrichissant. C'est très bien de passer son temps dans les montagnes avec des gens qui aiment aussi y être. Du ski épatant est aussi un plus! Sylvia détient un B.Sc. en Géographie Physique.

  • Nom: Stan Metcalfe
  • Sobriquet: Power Tool
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2007
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2012
  • Qualifications: Guide de Ski ACGM, membre professionnel de ACA.
  • Localité: Golden, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: GCH / Col Rogers / Station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues parlées: Anglais, Français
Stan Metcalfe

Son amour de la glisse sur neige a commencé en famille dans les Rocheuses Albertaines. Après avoir terminé l'université, il a vécu et skié autour de la C.-B.. et des montagnes Columbia et finalement se case à Golden, un centre fabuleux pour le ski. Guider le ski est venu naturellement à Stan avec l'équilibre entre les besoins de travail et de skier tout l'hiver. C'est la meilleure solution pour un incorrigible mordu du ski. Quand il ne ski pas, Stan travaille comme Physiothérapeute à Golden. Il a une femme et deux enfants à la maison et s'accroche ferme au titre de troisième meilleur skieur de la maisonnée. Piste favorite: 40 Watt les jours très neigeux; Audacieux lorsque le temps s'éclaircit assez.

  • Nom: Charles Gerrard
  • Sobriquet: Chucky
  • Position: Guide
  • Guide depuis: 2014
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2014
  • Qualifications: Apprenti Guide de planche, CASI 4
  • Localité: Golden, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: Station Kicking Horse
  • Langues: Anglais, Français
Charles Gerrard

“J'habite et travaille à Golden depuis 7 ans et dans l'Ouest canadien depuis 19 ans. Je suis nouveau dans l'industrie du guidage mais suis immergé dans l'industrie de la neige depuis 20 ans avec des expériences en Suisse, France, Andorre, Nouvelle-Zélande et Canada. J'ai travaillé comme gardien/charpentier de huttes en arrière-pays, enseigné la planche à neige, participé à des compétitions en planche, entrainé des clubs à travers l'Ouest canadien et en Nouvelle-Zélande. J'évalue et entraine des instructeurs de planche, et suis couramment à poursuivre des rêves de descentes hors des sentiers battus. Les étés sont un mélange de projets incluant l'escalade, le vélo, l'alpinisme, la charpenterie, fabriquer des planches sécables….la liste tend à s'allonger.

Ma partie favorite du guidage est l'aventure, et l'individualité de chaque voyage, tous les jours……les choses changent constamment en excursion.”

  • Nom: Eric Oxner
  • Sobriquet: Ox
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2013
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2013
  • Qualifications: Guide de ski complet ACGM, opérations ACA niveau II
  • Localité: Golden, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues: Anglais
Eric Oxner

“En tant qu'avide skieur et alpiniste, j'ai skié à plusieurs endroits exotiques autour du monde, mais ce que j'aime le plus, est skier et le ski nordique avec ma famille, amis et clients dans les montagnes entourant ma maison à Golden, C.-B.. (probablement une des meilleures destinations de ski de randonnée au monde). Donc, lorsque j'ai eu la chance de travailler comme guide dans ma propre cour d'en arrière chez Great Canadian Héli-Ski, c'était comme la réalisation d'un rêve…” Pendant les 30 années précédentes de la profession d'Eric Oxner comme guide de ski, il a travaillé comme patrouilleur Professionnel de Ski, Technicien d'explosifs d'Avalanche, Guide de sentiers, Instructeur de Ski, propriétaire de boutique de ski, Technicien de courses, et mordu de ski professionnel. Il habite à Golden en ce moment, C.-B. avec sa “skieuse de femme et sa surprenante fille”. Meilleurs jours et pistes favorites; “Mes meilleurs jours se passent avec des groupes positifs et amusants peu importe les habiletés de ski. Une de mes pistes de ski favorites incluent n'importe laquelle dans Stoli; avec leur vertical énorme, des sauts au choix et des lignes malades.”

  • Nom: Jamie Whiteside
  • Sobriquet:
  • Position: Guide
  • Guide depuis: 1996
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2014
  • Qualifications: Guide de Ski ACGM
  • Localité: Golden, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: l'arrière-pays des Selkirk
  • Langues: Anglais

Jamie Whiteside

Jamie a passé la plupart des dernières vingt années à guider et voyager autour du monde. Il est fasciné par les paysages uniques et les gens intéressants. Son voyage le plus récent incluait deux mois en Afrique centrale. Comme adepte de planche aérotractée, vélo, escalade, rame, et skieur, il trouve plaisir et aventure dans presque tous les environnements de plein air!

  • Nom: Ken MacDiarmid
  • Sobriquet: Kenny
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2011
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2014
  • Qualifications: Guide de Ski ACGM, CAA niveau 2
  • Localité: Golden, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: la station de ski Kicking Horse
  • Langues: Anglais, français, espagnol

Ken MacDiarmid

J'adore la nature sauvage canadienne, et guider chez GCH me donne la chance de passer beaucoup de temps dans ma chaîne de montagne favorite, les Selkirk. Lorsque je n'héli-ski pas, je m'occupe en essayant de travailler dehors. Mes récentes aventures incluent d'établir un commerce de guide d'expédition ( SandKexpeditions ), à guider des voyages en arctique pour Black Feather et voyager en Amérique latine.

  • Nom: John Everts
  • Sobriquet: The Big Johnowski
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2012
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2015
  • Qualifications: Guide de Ski ACGM, CAA niveau 2
  • Localité: Revelstoke, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: mont Revelstoke
  • Langues: Anglais

John Everts

J'ai été assez chanceux de naître et avoir été élevé parmi les pentes de l'est des Rocheuses à Canmore, Alberta. Fils de forestier de parc et de prévisioniste d'avalanche, j'ai été exposé au ski de randonnée nordique à un très jeune âge. En grandissant, je me suis concentré surtout sur le ski de randonnée et ai pu représenter le Canada dans l'équipe nationale canadienne. J'habite maintenant à Revelstoke, C.-B., avec ma femme Katherine, et notre chien Indy. Lorsque je ne suis pas à Great Canadian, je suis dehors en ski de randonnée nordique ou à tracer des lignes à la station de ski du mont Revelstoke. Mes étés se passent en kayak en eaux vives, vélo de montagne ou randonnées pédestres. Je suis fier d'être membre de l'équipe de guide et du personnel ici chez Great Canadian Héli-Ski. Allons skier!

  • Nom: Nigel Fisher
  • Sobriquet: Fish
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2016
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2016
  • Qualifications: Guide de Ski ACGM, CA Professionnel
  • Localité: Golden, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache:
  • Langues: Anglais, et possiblement le faux-latin

Nigel Fisher

Nous accueillons Nigel parmi notre équipe de guide cette saison. Né à Kelowna et élevé à Edmonton, Nigel considère maintenant Golden son foyer après y vivre dix ans et plus. Il a passé neuf ans à patrouiller la station Kicking Horse et travailler avec Recherche et Sauvetage Golden. Il passe ses étés parmi les North Peace Smoke Jumpers (à combattre les feux). Nigel est aussi fier papa de son golden retriever, Douglas Fur.

  • Nom: Jessica Taylor
  • Sobriquet: Turbo
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2011
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2016
  • Qualifications: CSGA niveau 2, CAA niveau 2, CSIA niveau 2, WFR
  • Localité: Revelstoke, C.-B.
  • Station d'attache: La Station de ski de Revelstoke
  • Langues: Canadien et Américain

Jessica Taylor

Jessica est aussi un nouvel ajout à notre équipe étonnante de guide. Basée à Revelstoke, elle apporte son enthousiasme pour les montagnes et le plein air à tous les groupes dont elle fait partie. Quand elle ne guide pas vous pouvez trouver Jessica faire toutes sortes de choses avec une scie à chaîne, un vélo de montagne, un fusil de chasse, une canne à pêche ou accrochée à une paroi rocheuse (possiblement tout ça en même temps).

  • Nom: Shaun King
  • Sobriquet:
  • Position: Guide de ski
  • Guide depuis: 2004
  • Guide avec GCH depuis: 2007
  • Qualifications: Guide de montagne ACMG / IFMGA
  • Localité: Canmore, AB
  • Station d'attache: L'arrière-pays de l'ouest canadien
  • Langues: Anglais et français

Shaun King

Shaun est un guide de montagne international certifié, membre professionnel niveau 2 de l'Association Canadienne d'Avalanche, et un instructeur de ski CSIA niveau 2. Comme membre de l'Association des Guides de montagne canadiens depuis près de vingt ans, Shaun a escaladé et skié plusieurs bien connues (et moins bien connues) routes des montagnes Rocheuses et des chaînes intérieures du Canada et connait très bien ces endroits. Il a fait plusieurs des longues traverses de ski dont le Canada est réputé et a vécu et guidé en Suisse, en France et au Japon. Il veut rendre votre expérience mémorable!

What is
Unlimited
Vertical?

All heli-skiing operations will guarantee a certain amount of vertical feet/metres. At Great Canadian, we offer a generous amount of vertical (e.g. 30,500m/100,000ft for a week long trip).

More

Guides

Our Guides

Great Canadian Heli-Skiing holds your safety as our #1 priority. Our guides are experienced and certified professionals (Association of Canadian Mountain Guides, Canadian Ski Guide Association and International Federation of Mountain Guides Associations). They are all trained in snow safety, weather analysis, and emergency medical techniques and mechanized ski guiding. You know you are in safe hands since all of our guides have, at the very least, +10 years of experience out in the field. Day by day they will find the best of what Mother Nature has to offer.

  • Name: Rob Dalinghaus
  • Position: Guiding Manager/Lead Guide
  • Guiding Since: 1991
  • Guiding with GCH since: 1992
  • Qualifications: A.C.M.G, Ski Guide
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Great Canadian Heli-skiing
  • Languages Spoken: English and basic German
Rob Dalinghaus

Inspired by friends in Grindelwald, Switzerland where he worked as a ski tech, Rob has guided since 1991 and at Great Canadian Heli-Skiing since 1992.

After putting his Aircraft Maintenance career on the back burner in 2002, Rob has worked year-round for Great Canadian as Operations Manager. In general, Rob takes care of all the various things that need taking care of. He admits that although there were aspects of his former full-time career he really liked, he feels that “the current arrangement keeps me around the people and the sport I love”.
Happily married to another GCH Ski Guide, Sue Gould, he lists children Keelan and Neva as well as his 1962 Triumph TR3B, as his other projects.

  • Name: J. Alison Dakin
  • Nickname: Al
  • Position: Lead Guide
  • Guiding since: 1992
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2007
  • Qualifications: A.C.M.G, Ski Guide
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Languages Spoken: English
Alison Dakin

My early years of guiding were non-mechanized ski touring, mostly lodge based. I sold my ski touring business, and my job in 2006, and thought it was time for a change. I began working part time with Great Canadian Heli-skiing in 2007, which soon morphed into a full winter season. After many winters, guiding at GCH has only become more fun. It is a great team to work with, awesome terrain, and the best ski conditions of anywhere. It doesn’t get any better for an office.

Certifications:
Association of Canadian Mountain Guides – Ski Guide / Hiking Guide
Canadian Avalanche Association – Affiliate Member
Best Ski Days: Having a cohesive fun group that wants to ski and have a great time. Some epic snow is always a bonus.

  • Name: Dave Rutherford
  • Nickname: D.R.
  • Position: Lead Guide
  • Guiding since: 2003
  • Guiding at GCH since: 2005
  • Qualifications: A.C.M.G, Ski Guide
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Languages Spoken: English
Dave Rutherford

“I have been guiding in and around Golden many years, most of these with Great Canadian Heli-skiing. Previous to this I ski patrolled and did avalanche forecasting in the Canadian Rockies for 10 years. In the winter when I am not guiding for Great Canadian I guide ski mountaineering and ski touring. Summers are spent surfing as much as possible.

My certification includes ACMG Ski Guide and Professional Membership in the Canadian Avalanche Association. My favorite part of guiding, other than epic deep powder, is sharing guests ‘Best Day Ever’ – on any day!”

Dave holds a B.A. in Geography. His favorite type of day is a snowy day in January at -10 degrees and skiing the steep and deep trees (like Velcro, Big O, etc). First tracks are always a bonus!

  • Name: Sue Gould
  • Position: Guide
  • Guiding since: 1995
  • Guiding with GCH since: 1996
  • Qualifications: A.C.M.G Apprentice Ski Guide
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Languages Spoken: English
Sue Gould

I’ve always had a passion for the mountains even though I grew up playing in piano competitions everywhere. Back in the early 90’s, I put my career in music on hold in order to pursue guiding more seriously. My first job in the industry had me throwing bombs at snow while working for the British Columbia highway avalanche control program. I then spent a bit of time working as a field research technician for Bruce Jamieson – one of Canada’s leading avalanche experts. Once I achieved my guiding certification, I started right away with Great Canadian and never looked back! Right around that time, I met my husband (guide Rob Dalinghaus), married and had 2 kids, Keelan and Neva.

While I’m dedicated to GCH for the bulk of my winter, I also teach avalanche courses for the Canadian Avalanche Association, perform music with several different ensembles both jazz and classical, conduct the Purcell Mountain Orchestra, teach piano, voice and music theory and consult for Kicking Horse Culture. I am also a Rotarian and in charge of Rotary’s local Youth Exchange program. My teenage kids keep me laughing, (or crying depending on the day) and in the off-season, I’m out mountain biking every chance I get. Best day? Face shots on Sly Pig for my 50th birthday!

  • Name: Sylvia Forest
  • Nickname: Syl
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 1995
  • Guiding with GCH since: 1998
  • Qualifications: A.C.M.G, Mountain Guide
  • Home Town: Golden, British Columbia, Canada
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Languages Spoken: English
Sylvia Forest

I started heli ski guiding at Great Canadian in the late 1990’s. From 1990-2013 I was also employed by Parks Canada as a full-time mountain rescue specialist, and from 2005-2013 managed the mountain rescue program in Glacier National Park, which is adjacent to the Great Canadian tenure. Having retired from Parks fall of 2013, I will be at Great Canadian more regularly, and am really looking forward to the coming seasons! As a mountain guide, I also guide during the summer months. I am a professional member of the Canadian Avalanche Association, and often teach avalanche courses for them. Guiding at Great Canadian is fun and rewarding. It is very cool to spend time in the mountains with people who love to be there too. Great skiing is also a bonus! Sylvia holds a B.Sc. in Physical Geography.

  • Name: Stan Metcalfe
  • Nickname: Power Tool
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2007
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2012
  • Qualifications: ACMG Ski Guide, CAA professional member.
  • Home Town: Golden, B.C.
  • Home resort: GCH / Rogers Pass / Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Languages Spoken: English, French
Stan Metcalfe

Stan’s love of sliding on snow began with family skiing in the Alberta Rockies. After completing university, he lived and skied around B.C. and the Columbia Mountains and finally settled into Golden, a hub of great skiing. Ski guiding came naturally to Stan as the balance between needing to work and ski all winter. It is the best solution for an incorrigible ski bum. When not skiing, Stan works as a Physiotherapist in Golden. He has a wife and two kids at home and is holding tightly to the title of the third best skier in the household. Favorite Run: 40 Watt on a deep snowy day; Bodacious when the weather clears enough.

  • Name: Charles Gerrard
  • Nickname: Chucky
  • Position: Guide
  • Guiding since: 2014
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2014
  • Qualifications: Apprentice Snowboard Guide, CASI 4
  • Home town: Golden, BC
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain
  • Language: English, French
Charles Gerrard

“I have been living and working in Golden for the past 7 years and in Western Canada for the past 19. I am new to the guiding industry but have been immersed in the snow industry for 20 odd years through experiences in Switzerland, France, Andorra, New Zealand and Canada. I have worked as custodian/carpenter to back-country huts, taught snowboarding, competed in snowboarding, coaching clubs across western Canada and New Zealand. I evaluate and train snowboard instructors, and am currently just chasing dreams of great lines far from the general thoroughfares. Summers are a mixed bag of projects that include climbing, biking, mountaineering, carpentry, building splitboards….the list tends to drag on.

My favorite part of guiding is the adventure, and individuality of every trip, every day……not much stays the same out there.”

  • Name: Eric Oxner
  • Nickname: Ox
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2013
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2013
  • Qualifications: ACMG Full Ski Guide, CAA operations Level II
  • Home town: Golden, BC
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Language: English
Eric Oxner

“As an avid skier and mountaineer, I have skied in many exotic locals around the world, but what I love the most, is skiing and ski touring with my family, friends and clients in mountains surrounding my home of Golden, BC. (arguably one of the world premier ski-touring destinations). So, when I had the opportunity to work as a guide in my own backyard at Great Canadian Heli-Skiing, it was like a dream come true…” For the 30 odd years previous to Eric Oxner’s profession as a ski guide, he found work as a Professional Ski Patroller, Avalanche Explosives Technician, Trail Guide, Ski Instructor, Ski shop owner, Race Technician, and professional Ski Bum. He currently resides in Golden, BC with his “hot skier wife and amazing daughter”. Best days and Favorite runs; “My best days are with a fun and positive group at any skill level. One of my favorite runs include any of the Stoli’s; they have huge vertical, optional drops and sick lines.”

  • Name: Jamie Whiteside
  • Nickname:
  • Position: Guide
  • Guiding since: 1996
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2014
  • Qualifications: ACMG Ski Guide
  • Home town: Golden, BC
  • Home Resort: Selkirk backcountry
  • Language: English

Jamie Whiteside

Jamie has spent most of the past twenty years guiding and travelling all over the world. He has a fascination for unique landscapes and interesting people. His most recent trip involved two months in Sub-Saharan Africa. As a kite surfer, biker, climber, paddler, and skier he finds fun and adventure in almost any outdoor environment!

  • Name: Ken MacDiarmid
  • Nickname: Kenny
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2011
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2014
  • Qualifications: ACMG Ski Guide, CAA Level 2
  • Home town: Golden, BC
  • Home Resort: Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
  • Language: English, french, spanish

Ken MacDiarmid

I love the Canadian Wilderness, and Guiding at GCH gives me a chance to spend lots of time in my favourite mountain range, the Selkirks. When not Heli-Skiing I keep busy trying to work outside. Recent adventures include starting an expedition guiding business ( SandKexpeditions ), guiding arctic trips for Black Feather and travelling in Latin America.

  • Name: John Everts
  • Nickname: The Big Johnowski
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2012
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2015
  • Qualifications: ACMG Ski Guide, CAA Level 2
  • Home town: Revelstoke, BC
  • Home Resort: Revelstoke mountain
  • Language: English

John Everts

I was fortunate enough to have been born and raised in the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains in Canmore Alberta. The son of a Park Warden and Avalanche Forecaster I was exposed to backcountry skiing at a very young age. Growing up I mainly focused on Cross-Country Skiing where I was able to represent Canada on the Canadian National Cross-Country Ski Team. I now live in Revelstoke BC with my wife Katherine, and dog Indy. When not at Great Canadian I am out Ski Touring or ripping up Revelstoke Mountain Resort. My summers are spent whitewater kayaking, mountain biking or hiking. I am proud to be a member of a great guiding team and staff here at Great Canadian Heli-Skiing. Let’s go skiing!

  • Name: Nigel Fisher
  • Nickname: Fish
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2016
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2016
  • Qualifications: ACMG Ski Guide, CA Professional
  • Home town: Golden, BC
  • Home Resort:
  • Language: English, and possibly pig latin

Nigel Fisher

We welcomed Nigel to our guiding team this season. Born in Kelowna and raised in Edmonton, Nigel now calls Golden home after 10 years living in the mountain town. He’s spent 9 years ski patrolling on Kicking Horse Mountain and working with Golden Search and Rescue. He spends his summers as a member of the North Peace Smoke Jumpers. Nigel is also a proud do father to his golden retriever, Douglas Fur.

  • Name: Jessica Taylor
  • Nickname: Turbo
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2011
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2016
  • Qualifications: CSGA Level 2, CAA Level 2, CSIA Level 2, WFR
  • Home town: Revelstoke, BC
  • Home Resort: Revelstoke Mountain Resort
  • Language: Canadian and American

Jessica Taylor

Jessica is also a new addition to our amazing guide team. Based in Revelstoke, she brings her enthusiasm for the mountains and the outdoors to every group she’s with. When she’s not guiding you can find Jessica doing pretty much anything else that involves being outside with a chainsaw, mountain bike, hunting rifle, fishing rod or hanging off a rock face (possibly all at once).

  • Name: Shaun King
  • Nickname:
  • Position: Ski Guide
  • Guiding since: 2004
  • Guiding with GCH since: 2007
  • Qualifications: ACMG / IFMGA Mountain Guide
  • Home town: Canmore, AB
  • Home Resort: The Western Canada backcountry
  • Language: English and french

Shaun King

Shaun is an internationally certified Mountain Guide, Canadian Avalanche Association Level 2 Professional member, and CSIA Level 2 ski instructor. As a member of the Association of Canadian Mountain Guides for nearly 20 years, Shaun has climbed and skied many of the well known (and not so well known) routes in the Rocky Mountains and Interior Ranges of Canada and knows these areas well. He has completed many of the long ski traverses that Canada is famous for and lived and guided in Switzerland, France and Japan. He looks forward to making your experience a memorable one!